Rodney Bullock Named to the USBWA All-District 1 Team


For the second straight year, Rodney Bullock was selected to the USBWA All-District 1 Team.  The USBWA All-District Teams are broken out by colleges that fall into each particular regional district.  District 1 consists of Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Mass, and Connecticut.  There were 10 players selected to this district’s team.

Here is the players selected to this year’s team.

Jalen Adams, UConn

Trae Bell Haynes, Vermont

Rodney Bullock, Providence

Ky Bowman, Boston College

Tyler Nelson, Fairfield

Luwane Pipkins, UMass

Vasa Pusica, Northeastern

Jerome Robinson, Boston College

Jared Terrell, Rhode Island (Player of the Year)

Seth Towns, Harvard

Coach of the Year – Dan Hurley, Rhode Island

Kyron was on last year’s team and was named the District 1 player of the year last year.  For him not to be on this team seems a little ridiculous.  The fact that Boston College has two guys on the team and both URI and Providence only have one doesn’t seem right at all.  Let’s take a look at his stats from last year compared to this year.

2016-2017 – 11.4 ppg, 6.7 apg, 3.5 rpg, 1.1 spg, 2.9 TOpg, 42.0% FG, 38.8% 3-pt FG, 71.4% FT

2017-2018 – 11.4 ppg, 5.8 apg, 3.0 rpg, 1.3 spg, 2.9 TOpg, 43.1% FG, 39.1% 3-pt FG, 76.2% FT

His numbers for this year are virtually identical to last year.  He averaged 1 assists and 1/2 a rebound less per game but had more steals and improved his shooting percentages across the board.  Pretty odd that he wouldn’t make the All-District Team to me.

Here’s a look at last year’s team.

 If I were going to go with 5 players to fill out an actual team, I would probably have it as Kyron Cartwright, Jared Terrell, Ky Bowman, Luwane Pipkins, and Jalen Adams.  Yeah, so what if they’re all guards.  The All District Teams don’t go by positions so why should I?

Other Big East Players to make USBWA All-District Teams include the following:

Jalen Brunson (Player of the Year) – District 2

Jay Wright (Coach of the Year) – District 2

Mikal Bridges – District 2

Angel Delgado – District 2

Jessie Govan – District 2

Desi Rodriguez – District 2

Shamorie Ponds – District 2

Trevon Blueitt – District 5

Kelan Martin – District 5

Marcus Foster – District 6


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s